Game Store Road Trip

Earlier this week Hart704 and I made a day of going down to the Columbus, OH area and checking out a handful of video game stores. My original idea for this trip came from realizing a guy who I follow on YouTube (L1games) who has his own game store was located in the Columbus area and then it branched out from there using Google Maps to find other places to visit. Here’s what I picked up:

Level 1 Games
Level 1 Games was a nice, clean store with a selection of games for most systems going back to the Atari 2600. Unfortunately the selection for each system wasn’t much to speak of (probably because of the small size of the store) so I only found two Xbox games I was willing to buy. An interesting note is that there were a few Famicom carts for sale, but none of them were games I was looking for. [RATING: 3 out of 5]

CS_POPWW-tn.jpg

Counter-Strike (XB) – This was the first shooter (along with Team Fortress Classic) that I really played online in a big way and it introduced me to the more realistic type of shooter that is very common with the Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, and Killzone franchises today. I played it on PC back in the early 2000s, but this version is just as fun and reminds me of those years I was really into this game.

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (XB) – This game comes highly recommended by Hart704 as being the best in the modern Prince of Persia series so I figured I would pick this one up since the price was right.


Play N Trade
I have heard of this chain of game stores before so I wanted to see what one was like. First impression when walking in the door was a very Gamestop-esque appearance, but other than that it was much better than Gamestop. Play N Trade was nice and clean, well-lit, and had games for most systems going back to the Atari 2600. Overall the selection was more robust than Level 1 Games. [RATING: 4 out of 5]

UC_SS-tn.jpg

Unreal Championship (XB) – A port of Unreal Tournament 2003 (which I enjoyed on PC), Unreal Championship is a great game and it’s nice to have it.

Serious Sam (XB) – I never played the Serious Sam games when they were on PC except for the first game’s demo so these (I already have SSII) will be fun old school styIe shooters to play someday.


Video Game & Music Exchange
We actually went to two of these stores and both of them were pretty crappy, not Stickman’s in Shelby and Ashland crappy, but somewhat close. Both were poorly lit and fairly dirty, but the selection of games was pretty decent. There were a bin or two at both places that had game carts just kinda thrown in them with no easy way to look through them so I didn’t even bother. I did find one game worth getting at the second of the two stores. [RATING: 2 out of 5]

SCRO_FCI-tn.jpg

Saturn Controller knock-off – I tried this out thinking it could be better than I usually expect from controller knock-offs, but it is trash just like usual. I’ll try to open it up and see if I can at least use the d-pad’s pad for my real Saturn controllers, but I doubt that’ll work out.

Far Cry Instincts (XB) – Many Xbox games were found on this trip as you can tell and this last one is another shooter on the system that I wanted to try. My list of wanted Xbox games is dwindling fast and is now down to only eight left.


Super Game Team
Very nice little quaint store. Very clean, well-lit, and very nice condition on most games. This is literally the only game store I’ve been to in the United States that actually prices games based on condition and completion which blew my mind! Game selection was a little lacking mostly because of the small size of the place, but it was pretty packed with games nonetheless. The only way this store could be better is to give this man a bigger store! [RATING: 4 out of 5]

SOR2_HA_SG6B-tn.jpg

Sega Genesis 6-button controller – I have an undying love for the Sega Saturn controller as I find it is the best digital controller of all time and this is its predecessor and it’s practically just as awesome!

Heiankyo Alien (GB) – A quirky little game where you are defending against an alien invasion by digging holes and then burying them alive!

Streets of Rage 2 (GEN) – One of the greatest beat-’em-ups ever made as many people know. Deceptively deep list of moves topped off by the usual fantastic soundtrack by Yuzo Koshiro.

平安京エイリアン

One thought on “Game Store Road Trip

  1. Pingback: Platinum × Kurosawa | おまえはもう死んでいる

Leave a Reply

