May Thine Strength Help The World Be Mended

X3DG_StR-tn.jpg

Xevious 3D/G+ (PS) – The definitive collection for Xevious fans! Includes arcade versions of the original Xevious, Super Xevious, Xevious Arrangement, and Xevious 3D/G.

Solatorobo: Red the Hunter (DS) – One of the very last worthwhile games for the Nintendo DS. This game is indeed my final intended purchase for the system as I have everything else I wanted already.

Crysis (PS3) – Crysis has finally come to consoles and I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone was raving about four years ago. Digital Download

デモンズソウル
Demon’s Souls (PS3)
+ amazing atmosphere and sense of place
+ excellent art direction and enemy design
+ demanding and unforgiving challenge very rarely feels unfair
+ exhilerating sense of accomplishment is second to none
+ tons of customization to build your character any way you want be it appearance, stats, weapons, armor, spells
+ multiplayer integration is unique and creative
- game doesn’t explain much of anything to you
- practically requires you use the Demon’s Souls Wiki to know about and how to do many things

No one is more surprised by my love for this game more than me. I bought a copy in December of 2010 with the intention to play it some time in the future, but it wasn’t on my must play right away list. I was intrigued by the reception it received after its release, but with the reputation it garnered I didn’t think it would be for me and, wow, was I wrong! I’ve realized that the focus by most people on its difficulty misleads people into thinking that’s all the game is about: being a brutally hard game for the sake of it. I can say without a doubt that that was not the intention of From Software, not only because Hidetaka Miyazaki said so in an interview with Game Informer, but because Demon’s Souls feels like a very deliberately designed gaming experience in every aspect. You have to think and play smart because you can die easily if you start getting sloppy. Never let your guard down and never think you are ever above what you are up against or the game will smack you back down to earth. Demon’s Souls doesn’t pander to the lowest common denominator, it expects you to bring your ‘A’ game and I love it for that! You can definitely expect Demon’s Souls to be a big contender in my Game of the Year awards later this year.

RATING: 6 out of 6 / 9.5 out of 10

One thought on “May Thine Strength Help The World Be Mended

  1. Pingback: Annual Halloween Gaming feat. [Review Quickie] Dark Souls | やれやれだぜ

Leave a Reply

