Required Reading

After just receiving three more CDs, I’m back to mention some highlights from them.

Bestoflarccw
L’Arc~en~Ciel – The Best of L’Arc~en~Ciel c/w
As you may know, I rather enjoyed L’Arc’s newest album, AWAKE. So, I figured I would enjoy a ‘best of’ album from farther back. This is the first one of two ‘best ofs’ I got and I don’t know what it is about this album, but almost all of the tracks here don’t do anything for me. As I type this, I can’t remember what any of the songs sound like from the titles alone. Not a good sign for someone’s supposed ‘best of.’
Favorite Tracks: none, perhaps?
Video: Sayounara

Bestoflarc2000_1
L’Arc~en~Ciel – The Best of L’Arc~en~Ciel 1998-2000
Maybe ‘c/w’ is something that means ‘best crap,’ but this was far better and actually had some tracks I enjoyed. Could be that their sound/style has changed quite a bit in the last six years, but I am sure I will only be looking forward to new releases since I like their newest stuff far more than their past releases.
Favorite Tracks: DIVE TO BLUE; HEAVEN’S DRIVE; trick
Video: DIVE TO BLUE

Vulgar
Dir en grey – Vulgar
My favorite band from Japan so far as I mentioned previously and this album delivers the goods almost as well as the other one.
Favorite Tracks: OBSCURE; THE IIID EMPIRE; CHILD PREY; INCREASE BLUE
Video: CHILD PREY

And, in case you missed it (and you know you did)…there is a scantly clad babe in the linked Miyavi video in the previous post. Check it out!

Later, people! I feel asleep!

ラルク アン シエル

Leave a Reply

