Retro Revival Week – Day 1

My first day of Retro Revival Week started out slow as I didn’t feel very good for most of the day. Later on, I finally got in the mood and started it off with Panzer Dragoon for Saturn. Two things I learned from playing this game was that it still has incredible music and that it kicks my ass! I had quite the time with stage 2 and even died once on stage 1, :lol:.

Next on the list was House of the Dead for Saturn. My brother and I teamed up to blast those hordes of zombies and had quite a bit of fun doing it! I’m so used to playing easier light-gun shooters like Die Hard 2 from Die Hard Trilogy and the Virtua Cop series that I was taken aback at how ruthless this game is after stage 1. I also learned that old light-guns won’t work on LCD HDTVs, so we had to move my Saturn to a CRT to be able to play it.

After that, we played World Heroes 2 for SNES. I came out on top with a match score of 9-7, thanks in part to the ownage that is C.Kidd. Must be the power of the pirate. ^_^

The final game we played for Day 1 was Contra III: The Alien Wars for SNES. That game is still super tough sh!t and proceeded to whup us at the end of stage 3. I personally made super short work of the stage 2 boss with my laser and a single bomb. I think I finished it off in less than 30 seconds!

Hope the rest of you are enjoying Retro Revival Week if you are participating. See ya next update! 驚くばかり!

PanzerDragoon_title

PD1_CG1
Opening CG sequence where our hero obtains the dragon from the previous master.

PD1_endofstage1
On to stage 2.

PD1_cutscene_stage2start
Cutscene at start of stage 2.

HotD_title1

HotD_ZombieDead1
Die zombie!

HotD_HiScore2-1
High score screen after second play.

WH2_title

WH2_PLselect
Player select screen.

WH2_VSscreen
Fuuma vs. C.Kidd

WH2_Fuumawins
Fuuma wins first round vs. C.Kidd.

WH2_C
C.Kidd wins third round and is victorious!

WH2_stats
Final standings.

ContraIII_title

ContraIII_stage1
Beginning of stage 1. Bill and Lance talk it over shortly before getting it on!

ContraIII_gameover
Rest 00. Game over.

魂斗羅

Leave a Reply

