Imports!

imports_070807

I have picked up eight new import games within the last three weeks. From top to bottom, they are:

Princess Crown, which you may or may not already know that this is the prequel to Odin Sphere and it originally came out for the Sega Saturn ten years ago and this is the remake for PSP. Much cheaper to obtain than the original release, so I went with it instead.

Bleach: Heat the Soul 4; I have really enjoyed the Bleach games on the DS and heard this series finally hit its stride, so I was interested enough to ask for it as a birthday gift and so far it is pretty good.

Ninja Gaiden Σ; This was also put on my birthday wish list and since it got delayed for about an additional week, I decided to put it on as the import version. Even though I have played God Hand and finished it multiple times, this game is even harder from what I can tell!

King of Fighters Orochi; A bare bones compilation of the three King of Fighters games that covered the Orochi saga (’95, ’96, and ’97). These three games still hold up quite well and this compilation loads matches in no time which makes my Saturn versions of ’96 and ’97 seem like forever in comparison.

Fuuun Super Combo; Another SNK NeoGeo compilation of two relatively obscure fighting games, Savage Reign and Kizuna Encounter: Super Tag Battle. The main thing this series is known for is the insane secondary market value of the European NeoGeo AES version of Kizuna Encounter as there is believed to be only about 10 in exsistance.

Guilty Gear XX: Accent Core; This will apparently be coming here on the Wii and PS2 later this year. This version of the GGXX series has the biggest changes since the original XX. While the music is largely unchanged, all of the voices have changed and there are some really nice new backgrounds along with new moves for most characters and new gameplay tweaks. Let’s hope a true Guilty Gear sequel is in the works because I have had my fill of the XX series.

NeoGeo Battle Coliseum; An interesting 2D fighter that includes a lot of SNK’s different characters, including non-fighting characters like Marco (Metal Slug) and newcomers Yuki and Ai. I’d say the game plays most like King of Fighters 2003 and has similar sound effects as well, which isn’t always a good thing since I’m not particularly fond of KoF ’03, but it is still decent enough.

Garou: Mark of the Wolves; This game is easily the best Fatal Fury game ever made and arguably one of the best 2D fighters ever made. The Fatal Fury series languished in the land of ‘decent at best’ for most of its games and for this kind of quality to come all of a sudden at the end of its run makes me want a sequel to this particular entry.

Erementar Gerad; I bought this because it was a cheap anime/manga inspired 3D fighter. Boy did I get what I paid for! The combat in this game makes the Mortal Kombat series seem smooth by comparison! If you’d like, you can check out my short review of it here.

My next Imports! column will feature three games I just ordered from Play-Asia as a part of their current Summer Smoothie sale.

忍者外伝

Leave a Reply

