Nov.-Jan. Purchases & Other Thoughts

While the last few months I chronicled my Famicom acquisitions, I haven’t updated with my other purchases. Here are the purchases made from November up through this month:

1GB_4N64

Star Soldier: Vanishing Earth (N64)
I have always enjoyed the Star Soldier type of shooter, but the NES game is pretty damn hard. This one may be a little too much on the easy side, but it is still a good game in the series.

Mortal Kombat 4 (N64)
A surprisingly great port especially since the MK Trilogy port on N64 wasn’t very good.

Rayman 2: The Great Escape (N64)

Wetrix (N64)
A puzzle game that is equal parts crazy, hard, and unique!

Dragon Warrior I & II (GBC)
The complete first two Dragon Quest games on a single GB cart? Sweet!

1GBA_1DS_4PS_2PSP_4PS3_3PS2

Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories (GBA)
I was surprised to find this new, so I had to pick it up.

ゲームセンターCX: 有野の挑戦状 (DS) [Game Center CX: Arino no Chousenjou]
I recommend this to anyone who loves NES games as the psudo-NES games made for this title are amazing! You can check out my review of this title here.

Magic: the Gathering – Battlemage (PS1)

Gekioh: Shooting King (PS1)

Duke Nukem: Time to Kill (PS1)

Final Fantasy VII (PS1)
I already had the Japanese version when I picked this one up. It wasn’t a planned purchase, but since the price was about half of what it normally goes for, I decided I’d take it.

Mega Man: Powered Up (PSP)

Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII (PSP)
This was what I got in trade when I gave Hart704 my copy of Call of Duty 4 (PS3). This particular copy is the same version that came with the special edition PSP from last year complete with alternate cover and is still sealed.

Stuntman Ignition (PS3)
A better game than most give it credit for, if you don’t mind music/rhythm games for their trial-and-error gameplay, then you’d probably enjoy this. I got it for $30.

Stranglehold – Collector’s Edition (PS3)
Stranglehold was an unplanned purchase when I was at Best Buy to pick up Burnout Paradise. I knew I wanted the PS3’s collector’s edition because of the included movie, Hard Boiled, but I didn’t want to pay full price. Fortunately, I found one last copy available at $40!

NBA Street Homecourt (PS3)
How can I say no to a cool arcade basketball game for only $9? Score!

Burnout Paradise (PS3)
Anyone who claims to be a Burnout fan, but is hating on this game based on the demo needs to do themselves a favor and go out right now and buy Burnout Paradise! Sure, it has minor flaws, but so does your precious Mass Effect and Call of Duty 4 and you have those more than likely. Stop sniveling about your lame reasons for skipping it and get it now!

Suikoden III (PS2)

Rogue Galaxy (PS2)

Frequency (PS2)
Do you love Harmonix for creating Guitar Hero and Rock Band? Then try to take a look at one of their first attempts at a music/rhythm game. I found this new recently even though it was released in 2001 and it is very good!

HudsonJoycard

Hudson JoyCard Famicom controller
Not only do I love the cIassic Famicom styIe of this controller, but it is easily the best controller I have ever used for the NES/Famicom! It may be used and is probably about 20 years old, but it still has top-notch response time and fantastic feeling buttons! The only downside is that it uses the 15-pin auxiliary port on the Famicom, so I’m afraid it is not compatible with the NES.

幻想水滸伝

Leave a Reply

