April Acquisitions and Sonic 1 & 2 Thoughts

Sega Genesis Collection (PSP) – n. mint, complete, $16.95
I finally found this for a non-ripoff price and I find it to be one of the best retro compilations I have ever played. Great presentation and great games!

NBA Jam (PS2) – EX cond., complete, $7.95
Looks better than it plays. It has some decent additions to the formula, but playing defense is practically impossible against dunks and since that is the name of the game it is a bit disappointing.

World Heroes Anthology (PS2) – new, $14.95
Fatal Fury Battle Archives Volume 2 (PS2) – new, $14.95
Since I love me some SNK I couldn’t pass up two new Neo-Geo compilations.

Dual Heroes (N64) – EX cond., cart only, $3.95
Deadly Arts (N64) – EX cond., cart only, $3.95
Mace: The Dark Age (N64) – EX cond., cart only, $3.95
Three big whopping ass fighting games for the N64. I like fighting games enough that sometimes I’ll even buy the crappy ones just to laugh at them and make my appreciation for the good ones rise even more.

Mystical Ninja starring Goemon (N64) – EX cond., cart only, $8.95

Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords (PSP) – EX cond., complete, $16.95
Bought this even though I already have the DS version because it is da bomb! Find a version (there are many!) and play it!

Klonoa 2: Lunatea’s Veil (PS2) – EX cond., complete, $8.95
I’ve been looking for any Klonoa game for awhile and I finally found one for a great price! ^_^

Mana Khemia: Alchemists of Al-Revis (PS2) – new, $39.95
I enjoyed Gust’s Ar tonelico from last year so I thought I’d give this a shot.


I have been playing and have finished Sonic the Hedgehog 1 & 2 from the Sega Genesis Collection. While I have played them many times in the past, this is the first time I have really sat down and played them with the intention to finish them. In the end, I wasn’t really all that impressed. There are two things that I really didn’t like about either of them.

The first was that the platforming and speed were really at odds with each other. If I wanted to platform properly, then there could be no speed and vice versa. Most of the game was spent not running fast which made the speed factor seem mostly pointless. It was a disappointing realization for me because speed is what the character is known for and it wasn’t useful.

The other thing was Sonic’s lack of abilities. This isn’t news to me, but it did make the game feel kind of stale after awhile. I think that is part of what makes the Mario games so great is the variety of power-ups and Sonic is the same throughout the entire game.

I’m not trying to be a hater, but they didn’t seem like the amazing classics that many make them out to be. Take it for what you will, Usagi out.

マナケミア

Leave a Reply

