Ape Escape 3, Pickups

More pickups since my last blog:

RE1_PS1-tn.jpg

Resident Evil – This is the original long box PlayStation version that I had when it originally came out in 1996. I remember walking into a now defunct local game shop and seeing this demoing on one of their TVs and I gave it a try and really liked what I played so I bought a copy of RE on the spot. Since then I haven’t kept up with the series much, only getting RE2 and RE4 since.

WO64_SB2_SS-tn.jpg

Wipeout 64 – I have always enjoyed the Wipeout series, but never was able to try out the N64 iteration of the series. I think this particular game in the series is pretty good and gets a bit too much hate. It is one of the few games for the N64 where I don’t feel the analog stick is more of a hindrance than a help. A good entry that was bested by the PS1 Wipeouts, but still worth playing.

Super Bomberman 2 – I have never owned a Bomberman game before this one even though I’ve always enjoyed them when I rented them. They are always great multiplayer fun! I plan on picking up more in the future.

Sled Storm – I picked this one up and it is a surprisingly good game! It has a little too much of the kind of crap music and “extremeness” from around the time of it’s release in 1999, but still worth playing anyway.

CFPS_SNES-tn.jpg

Capcom Fighter Power Stick – I like having at least one good arcade style joystick for each system I play shoot-’em-ups on since it helps me play better. I found this one at a local game store complete and in mint condition except for the outer box which is extremely worn and abused. This stick works really great and has parts that are clearly based on Japanese arcade cabs (short throw joystick w/ square gate and convex buttons), like most sticks that come out now, just with cheaper parts. As you can see in the picture it has two cables, one for NES and one for SNES! This will probably replace my NES Advantage since it is a much better stick.


Ape Escape 3 (PS2)

Last game I finished was Ape Escape 3. This was my first Ape Escape game and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. My favorite thing was definitely the transformations like a knight, a ninja, a form with a genie that accompanies you, and others. The game has a lot of variety because of the transformations and many gadgets you can use so you likely won’t get bored playing the game. The monkeys you capture are humorous too. My main problem with the game was a big lack of challenge, but it was still fun regardless. After reading reviews for the other main entries in the series I doubt I will pick another one up because I got the impression they were all very similar to one another, but I do recommend AE3 to anyone who wants a fun game for their PS2, just don’t expect any challenge.


Keep watching this space because in the next few days I’ll be posting about a new console that will enter my collection with pictures, text, and video. It is one that I have been wanting for a long time and it is finally going to be here. Until then, see ya!

バイオハザード

Leave a Reply

