Game Acquisition Update – September ’09

I’m back this time powered up with 12 new games that are actually old games. What can I say? I’m going classic gaming cRaZy!!!

GoT4in1-tn.jpg

First up is the Gate of Thunder 4-in-1 CD that originally came packed with the North American Turbo Duo in 1993. As you can see, Gate of Thunder, Bonk’s Adventure, and Bonk’s Revenge are on the disc. The first Bomberman release for the system is also on there, accessible with a code. Only Gate of Thunder is a CD game on the disc because the rest were originally released as separate HuCard releases and thrown on here as a bonus. Getting this CD was a great savings because separately those 4 games would cost a total of ~$90 instead of the $28 I paid.

TRF_PS2-tn.jpg

Next up we have a strangely named fighting game that has an arcade only sequel. I’m looking to put up some game footage soon for it to give an idea of what it is like. I think it’s a pretty solid fighter with an interesting dual super meter that has an ‘offense’ part and a ‘defense’ part. When they both are full, they combine to give you the ability to do a Critical Art as opposed to an Offense Art or Defense Art.

C2BR_OC_SFA-tn.jpg

These three Game Boy games were bought from eStarland.com because of a recent Buy 2 used, Get 1 used free promotion. I had Castlevania II: Belmont’s Revenge when it was originally released in 1991. It was great then and is still a great Castlevania game now unlike the other Castlevania games on Game Boy. Operation C was one I also played at the time, but never owned and it too is a fantastic portable game. Street Fighter Alpha for Game Boy is an interesting game in that it is actually a very good port of the arcade game. The music is the worst part because it grates on you with how annoying it sounds. Very impressive animation and gameplay which is surprising considering we are talking about a 6-button game being pared down to only 2 buttons. The AI is also exactly like the arcade version for the most part. Overall, Street Fighter Alpha on Game Boy is easily the best fighter for the system and a good fighter in and of itself.

VN_L1-tn.jpg

I was out earlier this week and happened to stop by a local place called Buybacks that sells used games as well as other things like used VHS tapes, DVDs, music CDs, and Blu-ray movies. I wasn’t expecting to find anything I’d want, but I lucked out and found a copy of Vampire Night. It was never on my want list, but I knew about it and it always sounded like a fun light gun game with a vampire theme, so I decided to pick it up. Turns out that it is pretty good and was developed by the same Sega team that developed other great light gun games like Virtua Cop and House of the Dead! I also found a copy of Loaded and a long box version no less! Loaded is one of my favorite early PS1 games so I’m glad I found it.

CG2_PCES_B93_MHnD-tn.jpg

My final shipment of PC Engine stuff for now arrived too. Two more controllers, mainly for Bomberman matches and Dungeon Explorer co-op (which I will get sometime). The green one with orange accents originally shipped with the PC Engine CoreGrafx II and the weirdly shaped (I usually call it the batwing) black one with blue accents originally shipped with the PC Engine Shuttle.

Speaking of Bomberman, I also got Bomberman ’93 which is one of the best games in the franchise and also Mr. Heli no Daibouken. Mr. Heli is an interesting, somewhat unique take on the cute-’em-up sub-genre of shmups.


NEW VIDEOS
I have uploaded new videos to my YouTube account showing my Famicom/NES, GBA, and DS collections.

In the coming weeks you can expect more gameplay videos of many of the above games. Until then, arrivederci!

ザ・ランブルフィッシュ

Leave a Reply

