Of Pinball, Game Boy games, and Men’s Beam

I’ve been playing and finishing many shorter games recently which consist of older 8-bit and 16-bit console games since I finished Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner about 3 weeks ago. I finished Streets of Rage 1 and it was decent, but I didn’t feel it was all that great outside of Yuzo Koshiro’s soundtrack. SoR2 was far and away better than the first because absolutely everything is better. I one-credit-cleared it on normal and I’ll probably go back to it soon and try to do that on hard since normal feels too easy now. Kirby’s Dream Land 2 was next and it is everything a second Game Boy Kirby game needed to be: bigger and better than the original. After that I was on to Jaki Crush for Super Famicom. It’s a solid entry in the Crush pinball series, but I still feel the previous entries of Alien Crush and Devil’s Crush are still better. Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest was next and I had @hart704 guide me through the game once and then I learned the route and finished about three or four more times. It’s a good game that has an unfortunate problem with communicating what you need to do which is where most people get their dislike of it from. Psychic Storm for PC Engine is a shmup that is pretty standard and fairly easy with the exception being the last level so I have nothing to add about it. After Psychic Storm I played a another beat-’em-up called Crest of Wolf (aka, Riot Zone). It’s extremely sub-par with two characters that play identically with crappy animation and a super limited move set. The most recent game I have finished was the manrageous shmup Cho Aniki. I liked it a lot more than I expected and it has a very good level of challenge even on easy. Much has been said about the Cho Aniki series’ risque and provocative presentation and that’s a big reason it’s an interesting play to say the least. Now on to my recent acquisitions since my last blog:

Flipnic_FotFC_GQ_SS_RF_KPL_BA-tn.jpg

Flipnic (PS2) – At first play this pinball game seems crazy and fun and it is until you play enough of it and realize that a lot of it, especially the later tables, aren’t actually pinball at all. The last table is literally played like Breakout and not pinball!

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Fall of the Foot Clan (GB) – A decent action game based on the TMNT license that I remember being easy. I played it recently and it is easy all right as I one-life-cleared it right away.

Gargoyle’s Quest (GB) – The first in an interesting trilogy of games that combines action-platforming with RPG. Extremely underrated series.

Solar Striker (GB) – An extremely standard shmup that was the first on Game Boy and the only shmup ever developed by Nintendo. It’s pretty good for being such a no-frills game.

Raging Fighter (GB) – While not the first fighting game on Game Boy (that honor likely goes to the craptastic Fist of the North Star), it was the first one resembling a good fighter for the system. The gameplay is nothing to write home about, but the presentation is downright impressive for a GB game.

Kirby’s Pinball Land (GB) – Like the later released Pokemon Pinball, Kirby’s Pinball Land is a shallow pinball game, but it is better because the whole game ties its three tables together where you need to defeat a boss on each one and then seamlessly go to the next.

Bonk’s Adventure (GB) – The Bonk series has always been a solid platforming series on the PC Engine (TurboGrafx-16) and this one looks like a pretty good scaled down version of the series.

レッドアリーマー 魔界村外伝

Leave a Reply

