Yakuza 4, Hard Corps pickups — Hard Corps, MK demo thoughts — ’90s GOTYs

Konnichiwa, mina-san!

Just like hart704, I also picked up Yakuza 4 this week at a local Best Buy for $40! I wasn’t going to get it right away, but since BB was selling it for $20 less than everyone else I couldn’t pass it up. If you are looking to get this game, head on over to your local Best Buy or check out their web site for the same deal!

Y4-tn.jpg

Still been enjoying Marvel vs. Capcom 3 a lot! My main team at the moment is α-She-Hulk/γ-Wolverine/β-Dante. I differ from a lot of people in that I never loved Marvel vs. Capcom 2. I liked it, but I felt it was too inaccessible and a little too fast. All of the previous Vs. series games were a lot of fun for me and MvC3 captures that once again.

I finally was able to pick up Hard Corps: Uprising on PS3 this week and my first impression is that it’s pretty good. Being a game by Arc System Works you get the expected rocking guitar from Daisuke Ishiwatari. After playing the game for about 2 hours on the first two stages I have a few criticisms to voice. I’m not trying to rip Hard Corps a new a-hole here, but some of these design decisions are dumb.

– 10+ min. stages are too long. Halve that and then the “bad” checkpoints wouldn’t be a problem.
– Bullets are too small in some instances and can even be lost in the background once in awhile.
– What sense does it make to have a life bar, but still lose your weapon by getting hit and not dying? You may as well make every life 1 hit.

Non-PS+ members were able to check out the new Mortal Kombat demo this week as well. It’s OK, but the fighting engine doesn’t do much for me. Not the big step up I was hoping for. I’ll probably still pick it up once it hits a sub-$30 price, but this is definitely no longer a day one purchase for me.

Thanks to this post by NeonNinja I decided to retroactively figure out what my Game of the Years and their runners-ups would be for the 1990s. The picks were largely based on what I currently have in my collection that I have played, so I could have forgot about something I would have put on the list if I don’t own it yet. Comprehensive game lists are hard to come by and take a long time to sift through and I didn’t want to waste my time going through lists that are filled with obvious crap because they are trying to be complete. Discussion in the comments about my selections or what yours would be is welcome.

GOTY199X-1.png

GOTY199X-2.png

龍が如く

Leave a Reply

