New AMD-based Desktop Computer

Here’s my new custom desktop computer. It has been a long time coming since my last one was originally built in 2004! I spared little expense (the graphics card is moderate because this system isn’t intended for gaming) to make it a beast that will hopefully last me for many years to come like the previous one.

CASE: Cooler Master Elite 431
POWER SUPPLY: XtremeGear 600W
MOTHERBOARD: GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 AM3+ Crossfire USB 3.0 SATA-III
PROCESSOR: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-core
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4GBx4) DDR3/1866MHz Dual Channel
VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 1GB 16X PCIe 3.0
HARD DRIVE: Western Digital 1TB Caviar Blue SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 7200 RPM
FLASH CARD READER: 12in1 Flash Media Reader/Writer
DVD DRIVE: Samsung 24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW
WATERCOOLER: Asetek 510LC 120MM

My future plan is to switch to an SSD hard drive when they come down in price enough. I don’t do hybrids.

Computer Apr. 2013 - angled

Computer Apr. 2013 - back

Computer Apr. 2013 - inside (bottom)

Computer Apr. 2013 - inside (top)

Computer Apr. 2013 - side (open)

Computer Apr. 2013 - front

Computer Apr. 2013 - side (closed)

2 thoughts on “New AMD-based Desktop Computer

  1. Good God! And what’s more impressive is that it’s an AMD-based octo-core system while many custom builders usually take the Intel route. I see that you’ve used the fasted RAM speed possible as well.

    I admit, I’m jealous. I always wanted to take several hundred dollars to Newegg and go to town in regards to building a custom rig, but I never got the chance due to family needs. Just like purchasing a Mac (which was an ambition that wasn’t fulfilled for nine years), building a PC rig has been one of my life’s goals.

    BTW, Windows 7, right, NOT 8?

    • I admit it’s fun and rewarding to build your own system and see it come to life! I’ve never been the least bit interested in getting a Mac. Apple simply charges way too much for their hardware and they always have. Not only that, but I also don’t have any kind of burning desire to use their OSes either. I was going to install Ubuntu, but had issues with getting the wired networking to work. I’ve since figured out the issue and corrected it, but in that down time I was curious about Windows 8 (dun, dun, dun) and purchased a copy and am currently using it. Win8 seems perfectly stable and works at least as well as Win7. Don’t get me wrong though, I hate some of the things they removed from Win7 (like widgets) and totally despise the metro start menu and any program that uses it. Luckily, everything I want to use has a “normal” version that works just fine on Win8.

Leave a Reply

