Mike at the Movies, reel 03

Mike at the Movies is a podcast where I give my thoughts/reviews on movies I have seen. This will be a podcast where I review one to three films with or without a co-host. The movies reviewed do not have to be current and can be any movie from any year and the discussion can include spoilers. You have been warned.

This reel I welcome Matt to talk about The Patriot (2000), Man of Steel (2013), and Rambo (2008).

If you would like to be considered for a spot in the rotating roster of co-hosts, let me know in a comment below.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE PODCAST FEED

5 thoughts on “Mike at the Movies, reel 03

  1. Submitted for your consideration!

    Patriot – Never saw it. *shrugs* I will say though that I enjoy using the excuse “Because I’m a parent,” for all sorts of things. 🙂

    Man of Steel – I’m just going to be lazy and copy and paste my earlier comments from Matt’s blog.
    I didn’t like the movie much myself. One of the things that bugged me is that I felt there was no purpose in having the flashbacks. In my head it would have worked better if they just ran a linear story-line. I also found the whole atmosphere effects on both sides confusing. There was a lot of unnecessary tactics and story points throughout the film.
    I will give it credit for making Lois Lane look competent at her job. I get that part of the joke is she’s an investigative reporter that can’t see through a pair of glasses, but I appreciated the attempt to change that aspect up.
    I also liked the IDEA of the government first treating him as a threat, but I don’t think they handled the concept very well. In the end, for the amount of destruction in it, it was rather boring. Although I wouldn’t be opposed to watching it again if someone else I was with wanted to see it, but I’m not going to be picking it out of our library anytime soon.

    I will now ADD for your blog (super special, right?), that it’s possible they wanted to avoid the damsel-in-distress-Lois, but then there’s no one to care about for Superman to rescue. He saves the planet. Well that’s nice, but I’m not sentimental about most of the people on the planet. 😉
    I’ll also say that the whole thing with the restrictive birth laws were out of place. It felt like they were trying to make a political statement, but it didn’t feel
    very well constructed, and was awkwardly fitted in there. So many unecessary plot points that went nowhere. And in regards to the choosing of the planet, it doesn’t make sense when you know that Zod wasn’t really a crazy villain back on Krypton (not that I recall seeing anyway). Like Matt, the more I think of ALL these things, the more I dislike this movie.

    Rambo – Better than Rambo 2 or 3 from what I remember. The story was more interesting, but I wasn’t sold on the violence. It seemed like they were trying a little too hard with the gore, and didn’t seem to fit with the rest of the tone of the movie. It seemed excessive without purpose and I don’t think served the character well.
    It’s just sad to see such a great movie (that being First Blood) turn into a parody of itself, and they could have done a better job at achieving a worthy sequel if it wasn’t for the comical amount of blood and guts. Entertaining? Yes… just more fitting to the lesser sequels than the original. Sitting here now trying to recall everything that happened in it, I can’t deny it has a certain level of forget-ability. Overall I didn’t mind it and was content to sit through it, but I’m not going to be sad if I never see it again.

Leave a Reply

